United Kingdom: crypto and stablecoin regulation (as of 1 November 2026)

As of

The United Kingdom brings a broad range of cryptoasset activities, including issuing a qualifying stablecoin, within the regulatory perimeter of the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) through the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (Cryptoassets) Regulations 2026 (S.I. 2026/102), made on 4 February 2026. They came into force for preparatory purposes only in late February 2026 (21 days after they were made), and the full commencement day is 25 October 2027. The FCA published its final rules on 30 June 2026, including PS26/10 on stablecoin issuance, which come into force on 25 October 2027; the Bank of England's rules for systemic sterling stablecoins are still a draft.

This page states what the official sources say. It is not legal advice.

Status as of 1 November 2026

StatusRuleSince / fromSource
PendingThe Cryptoassets Regulations 2026 (S.I. 2026/102), made by the Treasury on 4 February 2026 after a draft was approved by each House of Parliament. Subject to paragraph (3), they come into force on 25 October 2027, the "full commencement day"; issuing a qualifying stablecoin becomes a specified activity from that day.25 October 2027legislation.gov.uk
In force (preparatory purposes)Paragraph (3) of regulation 1 brings S.I. 2026/102 into force early only for preparatory purposes: enabling the FCA to make or approve rules, give guidance, give directions and take other preparatory steps, and enabling applications for permissions and approvals under the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000, including Part 4A permissions.Late February 2026 (21 days after the Regulations were made)legislation.gov.uk
PendingFCA final rules for the cryptoasset regime, including PS26/10 Stablecoin issuance (CRYPTO 2 and CASS 16 rules for UK-issued qualifying stablecoins), published 30 June 2026. PS26/10: "These instruments all come into force on 25 October 2027".25 October 2027FCA, FCA PS26/10
Scheduled (as stated by the FCA on 30 June 2026)FCA application window for firms that wish to rely on the savings provisions, scheduled to open on 30 September 2026 and close on 28 February 2027. Whether it opened is not stated in the sources this page uses.30 September 2026 to 28 February 2027FCA
Not lawBank of England policy statement and draft Code of Practice (rules) for systemic stablecoin issuers. Feedback was due by 22 September 2026, and the Bank intends to finalise the Code by the end of 2026.Draft of 22 June 2026Bank of England
Not lawGovernment draft SI (April 2026) proposing to exclude activities involving UK-issued qualifying stablecoins from arranging and dealing, intending to bring them under a modernised future payments regime (per the FCA).—FCA

Key rules

Timeline

DateEventSource
4 February 2026S.I. 2026/102 made, after approval of the draft by each House of Parliamentlegislation.gov.uk
Late February 2026S.I. 2026/102 in force for preparatory purposes only, 21 days after it was made (regulation 1(3))legislation.gov.uk
April 2026Government publishes a draft SI on stablecoin arranging and dealing (per the FCA)FCA
22 June 2026Bank of England publishes its policy statement and draft Code of Practice for systemic stablecoin issuersBank of England
30 June 2026FCA publishes its cryptoasset regime policy statements, including PS26/10 Stablecoin issuanceFCA
22 September 2026Feedback deadline for the Bank of England draft CodeBank of England
30 September 2026FCA application window for firms relying on the savings provisions scheduled to open (as stated by the FCA on 30 June 2026)FCA
End of 2026Bank of England intends to finalise the Code of PracticeBank of England
28 February 2027FCA application window scheduled to closeFCA
25 October 2027Full commencement day: the regime, including issuing qualifying stablecoins, comes into force; the FCA's cryptoasset instruments come into force the same daylegislation.gov.uk, FCA PS26/10

Not covered here

The treatment of overseas-issued stablecoins offered in the UK, the number of authorised UK stablecoin issuers (the FCA register was not read, and the issuing activity starts on 25 October 2027), the final Bank of England Code of Practice, the outcome of the April 2026 draft SI, the dates on which each House approved the draft Regulations, and whether the FCA application window opened on 30 September 2026 are not stated in the sources this page uses. The FCA said on 30 June 2026 that it will consult later in 2026 on firm failure, including distribution rules for a failed stablecoin issuer, and that further work is planned on payments use and on resolution of stablecoin issuers (FCA). It is also exploring the competition and economic implications of offering interest, and says this does not imply its position on prohibiting interest is due to change (FCA PS26/10).

Sources

Updated: · Markdown version